Registered Sex Offenders
Megan's law is named after 7 year old Megan Kanka, a New Jersey girl who was raped and killed by a known child molester who moved across the street from the family without their knowledge. Megan's law authorizes law enforcement to release to the public information about registered sex offenders. The law is not intended to punish the offender.
The information provided through this web site is public record. It is made available for the purpose of protecting the public. The accuracy of the records cannot be guaranteed, if you have any questions as to the information listed here please contact the Kit Carson County Sheriff’s Office at 719-346-8934. Kit Carson County Deputies verify the addresses of registered sex offenders. Offenders may have moved and not yet notified or failed to notify law enforcement.
This registry includes only those persons convicted of certain acts of unlawful sexual behavior since July 1, 1991, and who are in compliance with sex offender registration laws. Persons should not rely solely on the sex offender registry as a safeguard against perpetrators in their communities.
Facts About Sex Offenders
Most sexual assaults are committed by someone known to the victim; by some research estimates between 80% and 95% of sexual offenders have a relative, friend, and/or authority figure relationship with the victim. In a typical sexual assault, it is not a stranger that poses the highest risk to the victim.
In a 2000 Department of Justice survey, 17.6 percent of all women surveyed said they had been the victim of a completed or attempted rape at some time in their life, 21.6 percent were younger than age 12 when they were first raped, and 32.4 percent were ages 12 to 17. Men will report being a victim of sexual assaults and violence at approximately half the rate of women, and their true levels of victimization are therefore unknown."
Most convicted sex offenders are supervised and managed by community supervision teams consisting of criminal justice officers (probation, parole, community corrections staff), polygraph examiners, and treatment providers. While sex offenders cannot be cured, it is believed that some can be managed.
C.R.S. § 16-22-112(1) prohibits sex offender registry information to be used to inflict retribution or additional punishment upon the registrant.
Colorado Sex Offender Registry
The Colorado sex offender registry includes only those persons who have been required by law to register and who are in compliance with the sex offender registration laws. Persons should not rely solely on the sex offender registry as a safeguard against perpetrators of sexual assault in their communities. The crime for which a person is convicted may not accurately reflect the level of risk.
Sex Offender Registration
Any person who is convicted on or after July 1, 1991 in the State of Colorado or in any other state for a crime involving Unlawful Sexual Behavior is required to register in the manner prescribed in Colorado Revised Statutes.
Each person who is required to register pursuant to Article 22 of Title 16 or 16-22-108 shall register within five (5) business days after becoming a temporary or permanent resident of any city, town, county, or city and county within the State of Colorado or the next business day for any DOC release. Such person shall register during business hours with the local law enforcement agency in the place of such person’s temporary or permanent residence by completing a registration form provided to such person by the local law enforcement agency. The person shall be required, at the time of registration, to sit for a current photograph or image of himself or herself. At the time that the person sits for the photograph or image he or she shall also provide a set of fingerprints to verify identity. The person shall bear the cost of the photograph or image and fingerprints as well as a registration fee as determined by the local law enforcement agency.
Any person who is required to register as a sex offender shall be required to register or re-register each time he or she changes temporary or permanent residence, regardless of whether such person has moved to a new address within the jurisdiction of the law enforcement agency with which they previously registered, or upon moving into a new jurisdiction within the state or another state. Such person shall complete a written Change of Residency form, provided by the Kit Carson County Sheriff’s Office, within five (5) business days after moving into their new residence.
A person is also required to re-register, within five (5) days, if they legally change their name, employment, or are enrolled as a student, volunteer or employee of a post-secondary educational institution.
When a person registers with the Kit Carson County Sheriff’s Office they will complete, at the time of registration, a registration form containing, but not limited to, the following information:
· Full Name
· Date of Birth
· Current Address
· Physical Description
· Family Information
· Vehicle Information
· Employment Information
· Conviction Information
The sex offender’s file is maintained by the Kit Carson County Sheriff’s Office and is not available to the public.
Petition To Discontinue Registration
A Sex Offender must continue to register until the court releases them from this requirement. If the offender has not been convicted of a subsequent offense involving unlawful sexual behavior, they may file a petition with the court for an order to discontinue registration or website posting according to the time frames below. SVP’s, multiple offenders, and quarterly registrants are not eligible for this relief.
Your Offense When You May Petition the Court
Class 1, 2, or 3 felony (if not a quarterly offense) 20 years from the date of final release from the jurisdiction of the court
Class 4, 5, or 6 felony 10 years from the date of final release from the jurisdiction of the court
3rd Degree Sexual Assault or Unlawful Sexual Contact (M1) 10 years from the date of final release from the jurisdiction of the court
Other Misdemeanors 5 years from the date of final release from the jurisdiction of the court
Deferred Sentence or Adjudication After successful completion and dismissal of the case.
If under 18 years of age when adjudicated After successful completion and discharge from the sentence.
Internet website posting for Failure to Register After one year of full compliance with registration requirements.
Sex Offender Registration Requirements
*****QUARTERLY REGISTRATION WILL BEGIN WITH THE MONTH AND DATE OF BIRTH AND THEN EVERY 90 DAYS THEREAFTER.*****
Any person who fails to register, or fails, when registering, to provide the person’s current name and any former names, or who submits false information on the registration form , or fails to register with local law enforcement agency in the place of the person’s temporary or permanent residence, or fails to register within five (5) days after the effective date of a name change, or fails to sit for a current photograph or image, or fails to complete a written change of residency form and submit the written form with the local law enforcement agency of the jurisdiction from which the person moves, commits the offense of Failure to Register as a Sex Offender .
Persons who have been convicted of Felony Unlawful Sexual Behavior and fail to register or re-register commit a Class 6 Felony. Any second or subsequent offense for Failure to Register is a Class 5 Felony. Persons who have been convicted of a Misdemeanor Sexual Assault and fail to register or re-register commit a Class 1 Misdemeanor.
Any Juvenile adjudicated for a delinquent act of Failure to Register as a Sex Offender that would constitute a felony if committed by an adult shall be sentenced to 45-days mandatory minimum detention. Any second or subsequent failure to register offense mandates an out of home placement for not less than 1 year. A juvenile adjudicated for a delinquent act of Failure to Register as a Sex Offender that would constitute a misdemeanor if committed by an adult shall be sentenced to 30-days mandatory minimum detention. Any second or subsequent offense for a juvenile requires a 45-day mandatory minimum detention sentence.
Failing to register as a sex offender is an automatic arrest and booking into jail.
The list of sex offenders maintained by the Kit Carson County Sheriff’s Office does NOT include the sex offenders registered within the cities of Burlingtonand/or Stratton Colorado. Those offenders register with either the Burlington Police Dept. or the Stratton Marshal’s Office. The sex offender list is updated as new registrations or re-registrations are received.
Sex Offender Lists
The complete list of registered sex offenders is available to the public under the following circumstances:
· A local law enforcement agency shall release information regarding any person registered with the local law enforcement agency to any person residing within the local law enforcement agency’s jurisdiction.
· At its discretion, a local law enforcement agency may release information regarding any person registered with the local law enforcement agency to any person who does not reside within the local law enforcement agency’s jurisdiction. If a local law enforcement agency does not elect to release information regarding any person registered with the local law enforcement agency to a person not residing within the local law enforcement agency’s jurisdiction, the local law enforcement agency may submit a request from the person to the CBI.
· All requests must be made in writing and the person requesting the sex offender list must provide the Sheriff’s Office their name, address, phone number, and the reason for the request. This can be accomplished by bringing your Colorado driver’s license or identification card with you at the time of your request. There is no fee to receive a copy of this list.
There may also be citizens who are aware of convicted sex offenders who may be residing within the county who are unregistered, or who may be engaging in questionable behaviors involving children. In these instances your help in advising us is needed and in most cases the provider of such information can remain anonymous. Please call the Kit Carson County Sheriff’s Office @ 719-346-8934
Safety Tips and Additional Information
The Colorado Bureau of Investigations (CBI) maintains a website containing those sex offenders who have failed to register or who have been convicted of two (2) or more crimes involving unlawful sexual behavior. The list will contain the sex offender’s photograph, physical description, last known address, and conviction information.
CBI's sex offender website also includes safety tips and additional statistical information regarding sex offender.
The website for CBI is www.cbi.state.co.us. Click on the Colorado Sex Offender Site and it will take you to the sex offender list.
Copyright © Kit Carson County Sheriff's Office All Rights Reserved
To view the national registered sex offenders list please click on below link.
To sign up and receive notifications about a sex offender moving to your area please use the below link to register.
Kit Carson County does not post information concerning sex offenders only convicted of misdemeanor sex offenses, or juveniles adjudicated for sex crimes per Colorado Revised Statutes 16-22-112. For a complete list of the registered sex offenders in Kit Carson County a list can requested in person with the Kit Carson County Sheriff's Department at 251 16th St. Burlington, CO 80807.